Thursday, May 3, 2012

OXO Food Scale Review

It probably isn’t a surprise that new kitchen gadgets make me squeal.  I love new tools, new products to try out and even more, I love to share them with Y.O.U.

OXO has a blogger outreach program which allows bloggers to test out new and exciting products.  And not only do I get to share my thoughts, but I get to give one of these away to one of my readers.

I am (and always have been) a big fan of OXO products.  They are easily available in various stores, they are durable and their product developers think of everything.

Take this Food Scale for example.  It is amazingly easy to use, has a sleek design and I found nothing that I didn’t like about the scale.  Here are some perks to the scale:

- it holds up to 5 pounds
-it has a pull-out display created for easy viewing when you have a large bowl to place on top of the scale
-it has a “zero” button to measure ingredients in a bowl, without having to account for the weight of the bowl.
-the display is large and the readings appear quickly
-the platform is removable for easy cleaning
-the scale comes with the batteries it needs
-the scale is thin, very lightweight and stores easily in various places in the kitchen

Food scales are important in baking, but also in healthy eating.  I know that every day I try to make healthy food choices.  With lots of cookies around all the time, it can be difficult.  But with the proper tools, this can be done!

The day after it came in the mail I pulled out some ingredients to make some Elvis baked oatmeal, with some additional fruit.  This oatmeal, or any oatmeal, is usually my choice for a healthy breakfast, but I particularly choose baked oatmeal on the weekends, and then portion out leftovers for the week ahead.

This giveaway is now closed.

The winner is: #40 Nicole, who likes her oatmeal with butter, milk and brown sugar…my kind of gal!  Congrats Nicole, I have emailed you, please respond within 24 hours with your full name mailing address.

 

Disclaimer: This post and giveaway are sponsored by OXO.  I did not receive any compensation to provide a positive review, but I did receive a scale to review, at no cost to me.  All opinions expressed are 100% my own.

The giveaway will be open US residents only from May 3, 2012 until May 11, 2012 at 11:59 pm CST.  A winner will be selected using random.org and contacted via email.  Winner will have 24 hours to respond before another winner is chosen.  A valid email must be submitted to be eligible to win.  Email addresses will not be shared under any circumstances.  3 entries per person.  No purchase necessary. 

 

 

151 Responses to “OXO Food Scale Review”

  1. #
    Amy — May 3, 2012 @ 2:35 pm

    Monster Cookies with oatmeal, peanut butter, chocolate chips, M & M’s and whatever else is laying around the candy drawer!

  2. #
    Amy — May 3, 2012 @ 2:36 pm

    I like Bake your Day on Facebook.

  3. #
    Mai Nguyen — May 3, 2012 @ 2:51 pm

    I purchased an OXO scale a couple months ago and I love it! (:

  4. #
    keshakeke — May 3, 2012 @ 3:08 pm

    I like to top my oatmeal with fresh blueberries and a sprinkle of brown sugar and cinnamon!

  5. #
    keshakeke — May 3, 2012 @ 3:11 pm

    i “Like” Bake Your Day on Facebook

  6. #
    keshakeke — May 3, 2012 @ 3:12 pm

    I Shared the giveaway on Facebook

  7. #
    Kim — May 3, 2012 @ 3:13 pm

    My favorite way to eat oatmeal is with raisin’s in an oatmeal raisin cookie

  8. #
    Pat R — May 3, 2012 @ 3:20 pm

    I like crockpot steel oats are our favorite.

  9. #
    Pat R — May 3, 2012 @ 3:22 pm

    I like Bake Your Day on FB

  10. #
    Pat R — May 3, 2012 @ 3:22 pm

    I shared on FB

  11. #
    Corisa — May 3, 2012 @ 4:01 pm

    Old Fashioned with milk and a bit of sugar ! So plain yet so good!

  12. #
    Shari M — May 3, 2012 @ 4:17 pm

    I love Irish Oatmeal (stone ground oats). I like to put brown sugar, cinnamon and half and half on top.

  13. #
    Michelle — May 3, 2012 @ 4:21 pm

    I love oatmeal raisin cookies

  14. #
    Michelle — May 3, 2012 @ 4:30 pm

    I like your facebook page.

  15. #
    Cookin' Cowgirl — May 3, 2012 @ 4:46 pm

    I love OXO, and funnily enough, a small kitchen scale has been on my list to buy for a long time. {Fingers crossed}

    I don’t “like” you on facebook, I “love” you! hahaha I’m creepy, I know. ;)

  16. #
    Cookin' Cowgirl — May 3, 2012 @ 4:48 pm

    Gotta say, my favorite way to eat oatmeal {besides in cookies} is this Almond Joy Oatmeal….YUM!
    http://cookincowgirl.blogspot.com/2011/12/almond-joy-oatmeal.html

  17. #
    Cookin' Cowgirl — May 3, 2012 @ 4:48 pm

    Just shared this giveaway on my fb page! :)

  18. #
    Mary Beth Hunt — May 3, 2012 @ 4:57 pm

    I liked you on Facebook

  19. #
    Shery Baird — May 3, 2012 @ 5:11 pm

    I love oatmeal by cooking it on the stove and allowing it to get hard then pour milk, cinnamon and splenda over the top.

  20. #
    Shery Baird — May 3, 2012 @ 5:11 pm

    I liked you on Facebook

  21. #
    Shery Baird — May 3, 2012 @ 5:12 pm

    I shared your give away on Facebook

  22. #
    Vanessa G — May 3, 2012 @ 6:49 pm

    Oatmeal is in my top 3 foods. My favorite way to eat it is cooked on the stove and topped with some fresh berries, a sprinkle of granola, and a dollop of crunchy peanut butter. Good stuff!

  23. #
    Ramona — May 3, 2012 @ 7:23 pm

    I really love adding oatmeal to cookies and bars. :) Cool scale.

  24. #
    Tina — May 3, 2012 @ 7:27 pm

    I love to mix fresh fruit in with my oatmeal, along with a little sugar & butter

  25. #
    Jennie — May 3, 2012 @ 8:24 pm

    Definitely in a cookie!

  26. #
    luv what you do — May 3, 2012 @ 9:15 pm

    I absolutely love oatmeal and my scale is essential every time I make over night oats. I actually give friends the recipe in grams!

    Warm or cold…sweet potato is one of my favorite oatmeal toppings/mix ins!
    http://luvwhatyoudo.wordpress.com/2011/06/30/the-tipping-scale/

  27. #
    janice patterson — May 3, 2012 @ 10:20 pm

    I like to make overnight refridgerator oatmeal in mason jars for weekday breakfast to go!

  28. #
    Chung-Ah | Damn Delicious — May 3, 2012 @ 10:42 pm

    Awesome giveaway! My favorite way to eat oatmeal is baked with blueberries. I can’t handle the mushiness.

  29. #
    Rachael — May 3, 2012 @ 10:51 pm

    I love oatmeal with cinnamon sugar. Simple, sweet, and perfect!

  30. #
    Rachael — May 3, 2012 @ 10:52 pm

    I liked Bake Your Day on Facebook!

  31. #
    Amy @Ohbiteit.com — May 3, 2012 @ 11:22 pm

    I “liked” & shared, gladly, love your site!!

    Here’s one of many of my favorite ways to enjoy Oatmeal! :)

    http://www.ohbiteit.com/2012/01/crunchy-oatmeal-breakfast-truffles.html

  32. #
    Sarah L — May 4, 2012 @ 12:33 am

    I love simple oatmeal with a lot of cinnamon. I often slice a banana on top, too.

  33. #
    Kathy — May 4, 2012 @ 2:14 am

    I love my oatmeal with lots of cinnamon nad dried fruit.

  34. #
    Kathy — May 4, 2012 @ 2:15 am

    I liked you on fb.

  35. #
    Cindy Kerschner — May 4, 2012 @ 5:02 am

    I love oatmeal cookies with cranberries, walnuts and white chocolate chips. Soft and not too sweet! Of course homemade granola is great, or added to meatloaf,mixed as a crumb on top of berry crisp….I better stop, I’m starting to sound like Forrest Gump talking about shrimp!

  36. #
    Cindy Kerschner — May 4, 2012 @ 5:08 am

    Hi Cassie! Liked you on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/#!/CindysRecipesAndWritings
    Cindy

  37. #
    Cindy Kerschner — May 4, 2012 @ 5:09 am

    Shared you too on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/#!/CindysRecipesAndWritings
    Cindy

  38. #
    Sue — May 4, 2012 @ 6:28 am

    I love baked oatmeal with vanilla yogurt on top. And of course oatmeal cookies with raisins! Yum!

  39. #
    Bryn — May 4, 2012 @ 6:32 am

    I love the no bake cookies with chocolate, peanut butter, and oatmeal. Such an easy way to make me feel like I’m a kid again.

  40. #
    Bryn — May 4, 2012 @ 6:33 am

    My favorite topping is canned pumpkin, cinnamon, and brown sugar. When I was pregnant I couldn’t get enough canned pumpkin…and this combo has stuck with me.

  41. #
    Brenda @ a farmgirl's dabbles — May 4, 2012 @ 8:47 am

    I love steel cut oats, with a little brown sugar, a healthy dose of cinnamon, and some nuts and dried fruits mixed in. Happy weekend, Cassie!! :)

  42. #
    Brenda @ a farmgirl's dabbles — May 4, 2012 @ 8:56 am

    I like Bake Your Day on fb!

  43. #
    Patricia Crowley — May 4, 2012 @ 9:00 am

    I love having oatmeal with brown sugar and cinnamon!

  44. #
    MommaMary — May 4, 2012 @ 11:23 am

    I like just plain oatmeal with brown sugar. No fruits or other extras.

  45. #
    MommaMary — May 4, 2012 @ 11:24 am

    I “Like” Bake Your Day on Facebook.

  46. #
    MommaMary — May 4, 2012 @ 11:25 am

    I Follow Bake Your Day on Twitter.

  47. #
    Erin @ Texanerin Baking — May 4, 2012 @ 11:35 am

    I love kitchen scales! I go through them weirdly quickly.

    I don’t like oatmeal but if I did, I’d melt Nutella and pour that over it. It kind of destroys the healthy thing, but it’s all just in my head so it’s okay. :)

  48. #
    Erin @ Texanerin Baking — May 4, 2012 @ 11:36 am

    I already like you on Facebook!

  49. #
    Anne - From Anne's Kitchen — May 4, 2012 @ 12:35 pm

    Wow, I’ve heard really good things about the Oxo scales!

    I LOVE oatmeal (even in the summer) but I’m kind of boring — I always have it topped with brown sugar, walnuts, and dried cranberries. In the summer, I’ll throw in shredded zucchini (and then omit the cranberries on top) while it’s cooking to make zucchini bread-like oatmeal!

  50. #
    Kristy — May 4, 2012 @ 2:51 pm

    I Like Bake Your Day on Facebook.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

Leave a Comment