Thursday, May 3, 2012

OXO Food Scale Review

It probably isn’t a surprise that new kitchen gadgets make me squeal.  I love new tools, new products to try out and even more, I love to share them with Y.O.U.

OXO has a blogger outreach program which allows bloggers to test out new and exciting products.  And not only do I get to share my thoughts, but I get to give one of these away to one of my readers.

I am (and always have been) a big fan of OXO products.  They are easily available in various stores, they are durable and their product developers think of everything.

Take this Food Scale for example.  It is amazingly easy to use, has a sleek design and I found nothing that I didn’t like about the scale.  Here are some perks to the scale:

- it holds up to 5 pounds
-it has a pull-out display created for easy viewing when you have a large bowl to place on top of the scale
-it has a “zero” button to measure ingredients in a bowl, without having to account for the weight of the bowl.
-the display is large and the readings appear quickly
-the platform is removable for easy cleaning
-the scale comes with the batteries it needs
-the scale is thin, very lightweight and stores easily in various places in the kitchen

Food scales are important in baking, but also in healthy eating.  I know that every day I try to make healthy food choices.  With lots of cookies around all the time, it can be difficult.  But with the proper tools, this can be done!

The day after it came in the mail I pulled out some ingredients to make some Elvis baked oatmeal, with some additional fruit.  This oatmeal, or any oatmeal, is usually my choice for a healthy breakfast, but I particularly choose baked oatmeal on the weekends, and then portion out leftovers for the week ahead.

This giveaway is now closed.

The winner is: #40 Nicole, who likes her oatmeal with butter, milk and brown sugar…my kind of gal!  Congrats Nicole, I have emailed you, please respond within 24 hours with your full name mailing address.

 

Disclaimer: This post and giveaway are sponsored by OXO.  I did not receive any compensation to provide a positive review, but I did receive a scale to review, at no cost to me.  All opinions expressed are 100% my own.

The giveaway will be open US residents only from May 3, 2012 until May 11, 2012 at 11:59 pm CST.  A winner will be selected using random.org and contacted via email.  Winner will have 24 hours to respond before another winner is chosen.  A valid email must be submitted to be eligible to win.  Email addresses will not be shared under any circumstances.  3 entries per person.  No purchase necessary. 

 

 

151 Responses to “OXO Food Scale Review”

  1. #
    Kristy — May 4, 2012 @ 2:52 pm

    I love to make granola with oatmeal… I make it and eat it all the time many different ways. Thank you for the giveaway

  2. #
    Kelster — May 4, 2012 @ 4:25 pm

    I turn oatmeal into a breakfast cookie (oatmeal, protein powder, nut butter, sweetener, a little milk + banana, choc chips or raisins). I also love making granola with it.

  3. #
    Judit and Corina @WineDineDaily — May 4, 2012 @ 6:02 pm

    Judit likes granola with toasted almonds and dried cherries. Corina loves to make granola peanut butter cookies.
    Cheers:)

  4. #
    Brenda — May 4, 2012 @ 7:06 pm

    Love any kind of baked oatmeal!! I also put nutella and bananas in it!

  5. #
    Ryan — May 4, 2012 @ 7:06 pm

    Yay! This would be so nice in my kitchen. :) I like my oatmeal with plenty of brown sugar (or brown sugar splenda these days) and raisins. Pretty standard but that’s how I’ve liked it since I was a kid.

  6. #
    Sheila D. Johnson — May 4, 2012 @ 11:12 pm

    I eat oatmeal with my homemade Dates, Raisins and Almond Granola.

  7. #
    Carrie @ Bakeaholic Mama — May 5, 2012 @ 6:17 am

    I love any fresh berry on my oatmeal. Or I love it with toasted walnuts and honey or maple!

  8. #
    Carrie @ Bakeaholic Mama — May 5, 2012 @ 6:18 am

    I follow you on facebook!

  9. #
    Carrie @ Bakeaholic Mama — May 5, 2012 @ 6:18 am

    I follow you on twitter as well =)

  10. #
    Megan's Cookin' — May 5, 2012 @ 9:18 am

    I like my oatmeal with a little pumpkin puree mixed in and a splash of milk!

  11. #
    Megan's Cookin' — May 5, 2012 @ 9:21 am

    I liked you on facebook. Nice to meet you. :)

  12. #
    Megan's Cookin' — May 5, 2012 @ 9:23 am

    I’m a new follower on twitter!

  13. #
    Amanda N — May 5, 2012 @ 12:49 pm

    I love my oatmeal with mashed banana, a little cinnamon and a little milk. So delicious! Sometimes I’ll add in some nuts or coconut flakes to change it up.

  14. #
    Donika — May 5, 2012 @ 12:58 pm

    Love oatmeal for breakfast with some warm honey melted in and perfectly sliced bananas and strawberries for a heavenly, delicious bite each time.

  15. #
    Carley — May 5, 2012 @ 2:15 pm

    My favorite oatmeal toppings are brown sugar and bananas!! Simple but so good!

  16. #
    Amanda N — May 5, 2012 @ 2:43 pm

    I liked you on Facebook!

  17. #
    Sarah K. @ The Pajama Chef — May 5, 2012 @ 3:52 pm

    overnight oats is my favorite way to eat oatmeal nowadays. :)

  18. #
    Sarah K. @ The Pajama Chef — May 5, 2012 @ 3:53 pm

    i like your blog on facebook.

  19. #
    Sarah K. @ The Pajama Chef — May 5, 2012 @ 3:58 pm

    i follow your blog on twitter.

  20. #
    amy @ fearless homemaker — May 5, 2012 @ 4:48 pm

    great giveaway! i’ve been wanting a food scale for ages, but have yet to invest in one. my favorite way to eat oatmeal? with lots of brown sugar, some nuts, + some fresh fruit. mmmm!

  21. #
    amy @ fearless homemaker — May 5, 2012 @ 4:49 pm

    i like you on Facebook, from my Fearless Homemaker page. =)

  22. #
    amy @ fearless homemaker — May 5, 2012 @ 4:49 pm

    aaaand, i follow on twitter, of course, from @amy_donovan =)

  23. #
    Amanda N — May 6, 2012 @ 8:07 am

    I follow you on twitter as well!

  24. #
    Carolsue — May 6, 2012 @ 11:33 pm

    My favorite way to eat oatmeal is to put half-and-half and strawberries in it.
    Digicats {at} Sbcglobal {dot} Net

  25. #
    Carolsue — May 6, 2012 @ 11:33 pm

    I follow you on Twitter as MsCarolsueA
    Digicats {at} Sbcglobal {dot} Net

  26. #
    Carolsue — May 6, 2012 @ 11:34 pm

    I like you on Facebook (Carolsue Anderson)
    Digicats {at} Sbcglobal {dot} Net

  27. #
    Dakota — May 7, 2012 @ 8:56 am

    My favorite oatmeal is cooked with chopped apples, brown sugar, cinnamon, and a dash of nutmeg. I also made some the other day that tasted really good that I dubbed the “Purple People Eater Oatmeal.” It had blueberries and slivered almonds, sweetened with a little brown sugar. It turned purple and the almonds looked kind of like teeth.
    I’ve been looking at food scales for a few weeks now, knowing how helpful they would be with my baking. Thanks for offering the giveaway!

  28. #
    Dakota — May 7, 2012 @ 8:56 am

    I’ve liked Bake Your Day on Facebook (as Dakota Sommers).

  29. #
    Erin M. — May 7, 2012 @ 12:42 pm

    I love adding peanut butter, banana, and cinnamon to my oatmeal!

  30. #
    Mercedes@Satisfy My Sweet Tooth — May 7, 2012 @ 5:42 pm

    I have this scale too and use it so much more than I would have ever imagined! It is the best!

  31. #
    Christine — May 7, 2012 @ 7:38 pm

    I followed Bake Your Day on Twitter

  32. #
    Christine — May 7, 2012 @ 7:39 pm

    My favorite way to eat oatmeal is with homemade strawberry jam mixed in! My mom and I just made a batch this last weekend and it’s so good in oatmeal!

  33. #
    Rebecca — May 7, 2012 @ 9:55 pm

    My favorite way to eat oatmeal is with brown sugar, milk, white raisins and butter! I like it thick and creamy. The raisins have to cook in the oatmeal and the butter is topped on as it is served up and starts to melt on top. Takes the healthy edge off a bunch but it is sooo yummy! True comfort food! Think I will go make some NOW!!!!

  34. #
    Rebecca — May 7, 2012 @ 9:55 pm

    I am a new follower on Twitter! FUN!

  35. #
    Rebecca — May 7, 2012 @ 9:56 pm

    I’m a FaceBook fan! Yeah!

  36. #
    Veronica @ Café con Leche — May 8, 2012 @ 8:02 am

    i love oatmeal w/ blueberries and bananas!

  37. #
    Veronica @ Café con Leche — May 8, 2012 @ 8:03 am

    i like you on fbook!

  38. #
    Michelle — May 8, 2012 @ 8:46 am

    Such a great giveaway!! I so need a scale…my favorite way to eat oatmeal is brown sugar and raisins :) thanks!

  39. #
    Michelle — May 8, 2012 @ 8:46 am

    Of course I follow you on twitter :)

  40. #
    Michelle — May 8, 2012 @ 8:47 am

    and like you on facebook :)

  41. #
    Kim Miller — May 9, 2012 @ 7:57 am

    I like just regular oatmeal!!!

  42. #
    Kim Miller — May 9, 2012 @ 7:59 am

    I follow u on twitter!!

  43. #
    Kim Miller — May 9, 2012 @ 8:00 am

    And like you on Facebook!!

  44. #
    Lauryn V — May 10, 2012 @ 8:52 pm

    my favorite way to eat oatmeal is with bananas, strawberries and lots of peanut butter!

  45. #
    Lauryn V — May 10, 2012 @ 8:53 pm

    i liked you on facebook too!

  46. #
    Carmen — May 10, 2012 @ 9:55 pm

    My favorite way is in cookies. LOL. Oh – for breakfast? I love it with dried cherries and a little bit of brown sugar.

  47. #
    Jess — May 11, 2012 @ 12:07 pm

    I like to mix pumpkin into my oatmeal!

  48. #
    Schmidty — May 11, 2012 @ 2:21 pm

    I like mine with berries and nuts.

  49. #
    Schmidty — May 11, 2012 @ 2:22 pm

    I am one of your facebook followers.

  50. #
    Schmidty — May 11, 2012 @ 2:22 pm

    I follow you on twitter @rusthawk.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Bake Your Day » Vanilla-Walnut Granola

Leave a Comment





Current day month ye@r *